GL Fans Name the Baby! AMC wins WGA Award

User Rating: / 0
It's all in the name and AMC scores.

GL Fans!  Name Rick and Mel's Baby!

Until March 9, 2004, Guiding Light fans have the chance to name Rick and Mel Bauer's baby-to-be, by voting on their favorite boy's and favorite girl's name at the official Guiding Light website,

Among the choices are such historical favorites as Leslie (Rick's mother) and Edward Clayton (for the two grandfathers). The highest vote-getter in the appropriate gender will be Baby Bauer's name.

Congratulations to All My Children!

All My Children has recieved its third award for Best Daytime Serial from the Writers Guild of America.  AMC's writing team consists of the show's creator, Agnes Nixon, and head writer, Megan McTavish with Gordon Rayfield, Anna Theresa Cascio, Frederick Johnson, Jeff Beldner, Janet Iacobuzio, Lisa Connor, Addie Walsh, Victor Miller, Mimi Lahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, John Piroman, Karen Lewis, Amanda Robb, Rebecca Taylor, Christina Corvino, and David A. Levinson.

All My Children star, Eden Riegel (Bianca) was a presenter at the WGA's east coast ceremony this past weekend.

All My Children celebrated its 34 anniversary in January 2004.  The program has successfully maintained its popularity and continues to be one of Daytime's most compelling dramas.  AMC took home the 1998 Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series, the third time the show recieved this top honor, having also garnered the award in 1994 and 1992.  It also recieved its third consecutive Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series Writing.  This award gives All My Bhildren its third Writers Guild Award. The show will also recieve its third GLAAD Media Award in April 2004.

Created by Agnes Nixon, All My Children premiered on the ABC Television Network on January 5, 1970, as a half-hour show; seven years later it expanded to an hour. Julie Hanan Carruthers is executive producer, Megan McTavish is head writer, with Conal O'Brien, Casey Childs and Angela Tessinari directing. AMC is produced in NYC.