3rd Annual Soapdom Cybby Awards - Official Press Releas

User Rating: / 0
Announcing the winners of the 3rd Annual Soapdom Cybby Awards

Turtle-Run.com, "The Real Story Inside SOAPS," Announces the Winners in the 3rd Annual Turtle Run Daytime Cybby™ Awards

"All My Children" Sweeps Emmy Categories
"Passions" Sweeps Fun Categories

SANTA MONICA, CA MAY 28, 2001 Turtle-Run.com, the whimsical eZine dedicated to providing soap opera fans in-depth feature articles, interviews, and behind-the-scenes coverage of their favorite shows and stars, announces the winners of the 3rd Annual Turtle Run Daytime Cybby Awards.

AMC Cast circa 2001The Turtle-Run Daytime Cybby Awards takes the nominees as designated by the Daytime Emmy Nominating Committee for eight categories in the Daytime Drama area, and asks the cyber soap fans to vote for their favorites. This year, Turtle-Run's soap visitors choose different winners in all but two categories. For Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series and Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series both the Emmy Committee and the Turtle-Run soap fans selected the same winner, David Canary (Adam/Stuart, All My Children) for Outstanding Lead Actor, and Michael E. Knight (Tad, All My Children) for Outstanding Supporting Actor. Of the remaining six Emmy categories, "All My Children" came out on top in four, with "Passions" winning for Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series and for Outstanding Drama Series Writing.

In addition to the standard Daytime Emmy categories for Daytime Drama, Turtle-Run.com has created the Daytime Cybby Awards Fun Categories. The Fun Categories give fans a chance to recognize their favorite actors and characters doing what they do best on soaps, with a little humor attached. Categories like "Most Elistist Snob," "Most Endearing Imp," "Most Devious Doctor," "Oh Brother: Best Sibbling Rivalry" and "Best Performance from a Hospital Bed," are among the 22 Fun Categories. For the first time this year, fans got to nominate their choices for the Fun Categories. Those actors with the most nominations were given a place of honor on the official Cybby Ballot. In the case of a tie, actors with the same number of nominations each made it on to the ballot. TRO's editors then added one final category, "Best Soap of All Time," and contributed the nominations.

Passions Cast circa 2001The 3rd Annual Turtle-Run Daytime Cybby Awards Fun Categories winners were predominated by stars of NBC's "Passions," the freshman soap that will celebrate its second anniversary in July 2001. Its over-the-top storytelling, appealing actors, and just plain fun approach to the genre, makes it a mega hit with Turtle-Run's cyber soap fans as evidenced by the results of the Cybby Awards two years in a row. This year, big winners for "Passions" include Galen Gering (Luis), Ben Masters (Julian), McKenzie Westmore (Sheridan), and Lindsay Korman (Lindsay) who all won multiple Cybby Awards.

The closest race was in the category of "Character You'd Most Like to Bring Home to Meet the Parents (Male)," where Galen Gering (Luis,"Passions") eeked out a win over Tom Eplin (Jake, "As the World Turns") and Travis Schuldt (Ethan, "Passions"). The winners of "Super Couple of All Time" were not who you might expect. Say, Anthony Geary and Genie Francis (Luke and Laura, "General Hospital"), or A Martinez and Marcy Walker (Eden and Cruz, Santa Barbara), or Peter Reckell and Kristian Alfonso (Bo and Hope, "Days of our Lives")? Nope. In an astounding feat, McKenzie Westmore (Sheridan, "Passions") and Galen Gering (Luis, "Passions") were overwhelmingly named "Super Couple of All Time" for the second year in a row, and the show has not even been on the air two years!

Other winners in the Fun Categories include Kelly Ripa (Hayley, "All My Children") for "Best Performance While Hiding a Pregnancy," Melissa Reeves (Jennifer, "Days of our Lives") for "Best Return of a Character," and Louise Sorel (ex-Vivian, "Days of our Lives") for "Most Missed Missing Veteran," who also won in this category last year. Turtle-Run's soap fans could care less that Lisa Peluso has returned as Gina on "One Life to Live," and "Guiding Light" only received one nomination and that was from the TRO editors who included it in the "Best Soap of All Time" category where it placed 8th out of 11.

Award-winning Turtle-run.com is the brainchild of writer/producer and entertainment journalist, Linda Marshall-Smith, a frequent contributor to "Soap Opera Weekly Magazine," a feature writer for the "Hollywood Reporter" and a columnist for "Update: Production on Location Magazine." Marshall-Smith recently produced an award-winning short film titled "Sunday," starring television, stage and film star, Linda Purl. Marshall-Smith has an MBA in Marketing from Fordham University and has served as Executive Producer/Editor-in-Chief of Turtle-run.com since its inception in May, 1999.

"Turtle-run.com is constantly on the move," said Marshall-Smith. "Our fan base continues to grow. As a result, we have been investigating new ways to enhance our web presence. The Cybby Awards are just the beginning. Stay tuned for exciting things to come. In the meantime, continue to 'Get Inside Soaps' at Turtle-Run, and congratulations to all this year's Cybby winners!"

Editor's Note: The Soapdom Cybby Awards were called the Turtle-Run Cybby Awards in 2001.

Related Features: