DGA Award for As the World Turns' Chris Goutman

User Rating: / 2

Chris Goutman (c) DGACongratulations go out to As the World Turns' Chris Goutman who won the prestigious Directors Guild Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Daytime Serials. Goutman was also nominated in the same category for As the World Turns episode #12,971 in 2007, Episode #12,166 in 2004 and Episode #10,446 in 1997. This year, the winning episode was titled, "One Upon a Time," and was the first year that Goutman took home the award.

Kudos, too, to the directorial team this year including Associate Directors Michael Kerner and Carol Sedwick, Stage Managers Nancy Barron and Jennifer Blood, and Production Associates Brett Hellman, Alexandra Verner Roalsvig and Jared Lynch.

The winners of the 2009 Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards and the recipients of the Guild's 2010 Career Achievement Awards were announced Saturday night during the 62nd Annual DGA Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. Kathryn Bigelow won the DGA's Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for The Hurt Locker.

Following the welcome by DGA President Taylor Hackford to an audience of more than 1,600 guests, director/actor Carl Reiner hosted the ceremony.

Presenters included (in show order): Jon Cryer (Two and a Half Men), Julie Bowen (Modern Family), Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker), Lea Michele and Matthew Morrison (Glee), DGA Board Member Jesus Trevino, Cheryl Hines (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Zoe Saldana and Sam Worthington (Avatar), Jodie Foster (The Beaver), DGA Board Member Donald Petrie, Carey Mulligan (An Education), Gabourey Sidibe (Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire), President and CEO of Disney Robert Iger, Christina Hendricks (Mad Men), Anna Kendrick and Jason Bateman (Up In The Air), Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds), DGA Secretary/Treasurer Gil Cates, Robert Zemeckis (A Christmas Carol), Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight), Brad Pitt (Inglourious Basterds), Jane Alexander (Terminator Salvation), DGA President Taylor Hackford, and 2008 DGA Feature Film Award winner Danny Boyle (Slumdog Millionaire).

The DGA's Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film has traditionally served as a near-perfect barometer for the Academy Award for Best Director. Only six times since the DGA Award's inception in 1948 has the winner not gone on to receive the Academy Award for Best Director.

Soapdom again congratulates Goutman and his team for the win this year. However, we still can't help but think it's all rather bitter sweet as CBS announced the cancelation of As the World Turns, ending the soap's 54-year network run in September 2010.