Vanessa Marcil to Host 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

User Rating: / 0
Daytime Emmy winner Marcial signs on to host 2004 award ceremony

Daytime Emmy Winner Turned Prime Time Star Helms 2004 Daytime Emmy Awards

NBC's Las Vegas Star Is Joined by Galaxy of Daytime Celebrity Presenters, Including Jane Pauley, Deidre Hall, Ellen DeGeneres, Drake Hogestyn, Kristian Alfonso, Peter Reckell, Alison Sweeney, Susan Lucci and her daughter Liza Huber, Cameron Mathison, Jennifer Finnigan, and Tyler Christopher Among Others

BURBANK, Calif. -- May 10, 2004 -- Vanessa Marcil - a 2003 Daytime Emmy winner for her role as Brenda on General Hospital, and who now stars in NBC's hit drama Las Vegas (Mondays, 9-10 p.m. ET) - has been named the host for NBC's broadcast of the prestigious National Television Academy's 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Friday, May 21 (9-11 p.m. ET).

Marcil -- who loved starring on General Hospital -- now dazzles in primetime on the stylistic Las Vegas as the freewheeling and free-dealing Samantha "Sam" Jane (her series is television's highest-rated freshman drama). In her role, Marcil showcases her ability to wine-and-dine the high rollers.

Marcil, who won her first Daytime Emmy just last year, will be joined by a host of glittering presenters representing daytime television's biggest stars.

Some of the confirmed celebrity presenters (at press time) are "Salem Stalker" Deidre Hall (NBC's Days of Our Lives), Ellen DeGeneres (The Ellen DeGeneres Show), Emeril Lagasse (Emeril Live), Jane Pauley (the upcoming syndicated The Jane Pauley Show), Emmy winner Jennifer Finnigan (NBC's Crossing Jordan and "The Bold and the Beautiful), Drake Hogestyn, Kristian Alfonso Peter Reckell and Alison Sweeney (NBC's Days of Our Lives) Galen Gering and McKenzie Westmore (NBC's Passions) and Cameron Mathison and Alicia Minshew (All My Children).

The presenters also include Lorenzo Lamas and Jack Wagner (The Bold and the Beautiful), Maura West & Michael Park (As The World Turns), Paige Davis (Trading Spaces), Peter Fonda, Ricky Paull Goldin and Beth Ehlers (Guiding Light), mother daughter team Susan Lucci (All My Children) and Liza Huber (NBC's Passions), Trevor St. John and Kassie De Paiva ("One Life To Live), Tyler Christopher and Natalia Livingston (General Hospital), Victoria Rowell and Kristoff St. John ("The Young and the Restless").

The top TV awards will again honor the most talented and versatile performers on daytime programming as well as game shows airing during all dayparts. This year's awards features the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award to 10 of daytime's most illustrious stars, including NBC's Days of Our Lives star Frances Reid.

Marcil made her television debut on the daytime drama General Hospital and earned a Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress while she garnered several other award nominations for Outstanding Lead Actress and Hottest Female Star. After her six-year run on the daytime series, Marcil ventured into primetime television appearing as a series regular on Beverly Hills, 90210. Her other television credits include guest-starring roles on NYPD Blue, High Incident and Spin City, as well as starring in the TV movie To Love, Honor and Deceive.

In addition, Marcil made her feature-film debut in the blockbuster The Rock, starring alongside Nicolas Cage and Sean Connery. Her other feature credits include the independent films The Space Between Us and Nice Guys Sleep Alone with Sean O'Bryan.

Along with her work on screen, Marcil works closely with Sojourn Services for Battered Women and Their Children, as well as with programs assisting those who have been affected by drug and alcohol abuse.

The 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) in cooperation with Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (ATAS). NBC's broadcast of the awards will be produced by the dick clark production group. The executive producer is Dick Clark; the producers are Al Schwartz and Barry Adelman; the writers are Adelman and Ken Shapiro; Louis J. Horvitz is the director, and Susan Abramson is the talent executive.

Return to Emmy Headquarters