JA Control Panle

Soap opera community photos scoops news buzz and celebrities

  • increase font size
  • Default font size
  • decrease font size
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS
Home Features Daytime Emmy Coverage Vanessa Marcil to Host 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

Vanessa Marcil to Host 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

E-mail Print PDF
User Rating: / 0
Daytime Emmy winner Marcial signs on to host 2004 award ceremony

Daytime Emmy Winner Turned Prime Time Star Helms 2004 Daytime Emmy Awards

NBC's Las Vegas Star Is Joined by Galaxy of Daytime Celebrity Presenters, Including Jane Pauley, Deidre Hall, Ellen DeGeneres, Drake Hogestyn, Kristian Alfonso, Peter Reckell, Alison Sweeney, Susan Lucci and her daughter Liza Huber, Cameron Mathison, Jennifer Finnigan, and Tyler Christopher Among Others

BURBANK, Calif. -- May 10, 2004 -- Vanessa Marcil - a 2003 Daytime Emmy winner for her role as Brenda on General Hospital, and who now stars in NBC's hit drama Las Vegas (Mondays, 9-10 p.m. ET) - has been named the host for NBC's broadcast of the prestigious National Television Academy's 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City on Friday, May 21 (9-11 p.m. ET).

Marcil -- who loved starring on General Hospital -- now dazzles in primetime on the stylistic Las Vegas as the freewheeling and free-dealing Samantha "Sam" Jane (her series is television's highest-rated freshman drama). In her role, Marcil showcases her ability to wine-and-dine the high rollers.

Marcil, who won her first Daytime Emmy just last year, will be joined by a host of glittering presenters representing daytime television's biggest stars.

Some of the confirmed celebrity presenters (at press time) are "Salem Stalker" Deidre Hall (NBC's Days of Our Lives), Ellen DeGeneres (The Ellen DeGeneres Show), Emeril Lagasse (Emeril Live), Jane Pauley (the upcoming syndicated The Jane Pauley Show), Emmy winner Jennifer Finnigan (NBC's Crossing Jordan and "The Bold and the Beautiful), Drake Hogestyn, Kristian Alfonso Peter Reckell and Alison Sweeney (NBC's Days of Our Lives) Galen Gering and McKenzie Westmore (NBC's Passions) and Cameron Mathison and Alicia Minshew (All My Children).

The presenters also include Lorenzo Lamas and Jack Wagner (The Bold and the Beautiful), Maura West & Michael Park (As The World Turns), Paige Davis (Trading Spaces), Peter Fonda, Ricky Paull Goldin and Beth Ehlers (Guiding Light), mother daughter team Susan Lucci (All My Children) and Liza Huber (NBC's Passions), Trevor St. John and Kassie De Paiva ("One Life To Live), Tyler Christopher and Natalia Livingston (General Hospital), Victoria Rowell and Kristoff St. John ("The Young and the Restless").

The top TV awards will again honor the most talented and versatile performers on daytime programming as well as game shows airing during all dayparts. This year's awards features the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award to 10 of daytime's most illustrious stars, including NBC's Days of Our Lives star Frances Reid.

Marcil made her television debut on the daytime drama General Hospital and earned a Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress while she garnered several other award nominations for Outstanding Lead Actress and Hottest Female Star. After her six-year run on the daytime series, Marcil ventured into primetime television appearing as a series regular on Beverly Hills, 90210. Her other television credits include guest-starring roles on NYPD Blue, High Incident and Spin City, as well as starring in the TV movie To Love, Honor and Deceive.

In addition, Marcil made her feature-film debut in the blockbuster The Rock, starring alongside Nicolas Cage and Sean Connery. Her other feature credits include the independent films The Space Between Us and Nice Guys Sleep Alone with Sean O'Bryan.

Along with her work on screen, Marcil works closely with Sojourn Services for Battered Women and Their Children, as well as with programs assisting those who have been affected by drug and alcohol abuse.

The 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) in cooperation with Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (ATAS). NBC's broadcast of the awards will be produced by the dick clark production group. The executive producer is Dick Clark; the producers are Al Schwartz and Barry Adelman; the writers are Adelman and Ken Shapiro; Louis J. Horvitz is the director, and Susan Abramson is the talent executive.

Return to Emmy Headquarters

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.



Linda Marshall-Smith (QueenRuler, Soapdom.com)
New to

Start here!

Past Blast

Chicago TV host to honor mom in a cancer survivors celebration walk

Ryan Chiaverini, Chicago talk show host of Windy City Live (ABC 7 1PM) will be participating in the 24th annual Cancer Survivors' Celebration Walk & 5 K in Chicago on Sunday June 4th. (Grant Park) and it will be very personal, as he honors his mother, who lost her battle.

"I lost my mom to cancer several months ago, and this is something I want to do," Chiaverini said. "My mom battled cancer twice. She was doing well and now she was taken from us. I want to honor her memory."

Chiaverini will be forming a team called "Team Edna."

Check It Out

Melody Thomas  Scott,, Eric Braeden, The Young and the Restless Snail Mail TPTB
Got a beef? Wanna praise? Looking for an acting gig? Reach out to the powers that be.
Celebrity Buzz and Gossip at Soapdom.com Celebrity Buzz & Gossip
Get your daily dose.
Soap Opera Baby Names
Name your baby after your favorite soap character. Get the scoop!
The Soapdom News
Join our newsletter list. Enter your details below.
Email *
First Name *
Last Name *
* Required Field
Powered by Benchmark Email

Soapdom on TwitterSoap Tweets
Follow Your Faves





36th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards on the CW Promo

Top Members

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events currently scheduled.


Members : 79594
Content : 18413
Web Links : 33
Content View Hits : 27774951