EMMY 2007 ~ Daytime Television Pioneer Lee Phillip Bell To Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

User Rating: / 0
The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences to Honor Bell


Lee Phillip Bell and  the late Bill BellDaytime television pioneer and award-winning broadcast journalist Lee Phillip Bell will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

Bell is the co-creator, with her late husband William J. Bell, of CBS’s highly rated daytime dramas “The Young and the Restless” and “The Bold and the Beautiful.”  She was also a long-term story consultant for both shows and, as an Emmy-award winning broadcast journalist, her lifelong exploration into issues of social concern has woven its way into many daytime storylines.

She was the host of “The Lee Phillip Show,” broadcast on WBBM-TV Chicago, from 1952 – 1986. Bell is widely considered a pioneer in the evolution of the afternoon talk show format, interviewing well-known politicians, film and television stars and athletes, and was also a trailblazer in the exploration of timely social issues.

Additionally, she has served as producer and narrator on numerous award-winning specials and documentaries on subjects such as foster children, rape, children and divorce, and babies born to women in prison.

Bell has been honored with scores of awards over the course of her career.  She received the 1993 Broadcaster of the Year Award from the American Women in Radio and Television, and the 1993 Director’s Choice Award from the National Women’s Economic Alliance Foundation.  She was honored with 16 local Emmy Awards in Chicago and an Emmy Award in 1980 for Community Service. In 1973, she received an Emmy as well as the coveted Alfred I. Dupont-Columbia University Award for producing the special, “The Rape of Paulette,” the first televised program dealing with the subject.  In 1975, the Chicago chapter of NATAS bestowed upon her the esteemed Governor’s Award.  In 1996, Lee Phillip Bell and Bill Bell were both honored with the Striving for Excellence Award by the Minorities in Broadcasting Training Program.

Bill Bell received the Lifetime Achievement Award from NATAS in 1992, which makes the Bells the only married couple to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award individually from NATAS, although in separate years, in the history of television.

And just in case you didn't know...

“The Young and the Restless” has been the Number One rated daytime drama for more than 18 years and is in its 34th season.  The show is broadcast weekdays (12:30-1:30 PM; 11:00 AM-12:00 Noon, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network and is produced by Bell Dramatic Serial Company, in association with Sony Pictures Television.  The Emmy Award-winning “The Young and the Restless” debuted on March 26, 1973. “Y&R” has taped more than 8,600 episodes and is the only daytime drama produced in high-definition. Lynn Marie Latham is the Executive Producer and Head Writer.  For more information visit:  www.theyoungandtherestless.com.

“The Bold and the Beautiful” will celebrate its 20th anniversary on March 23, 2007.  The show is broadcast weekdays (1:30 -2:00 PM, ET; 12:30-1:00 PM, PT) on the CBS Television Network and is a Bell-Phillip Television production. “The Bold and the Beautiful” is currently the Number Two rated daytime drama in the U.S. and is the most watched daily drama in the world, with millions of viewers in more than 140 countries.  “B&B” has taped more than 5,000 episodes and, is currently in its fifth year as the only daytime drama to simulcast in Spanish utilizing SAP (Secondary Audio Program) technology.   Bradley P. Bell is the Executive Producer and Head Writer. For more information visit: www.boldandbeautiful.com.