EMMY 2007 ~ Creative Arts and Entertainment Awards

User Rating: / 0
Lifetime Achievement Awards to Honor James Lipton and Lee Phillip Bell


Jeff Branson (Jonathan, All My Children)The 34th Annual Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment Emmy® Awards will feature a star-studded cast of presenters on Thursday, June 14, including actress Melanie Griffith and film director Mark Rydell (“The Rose,” “On Golden Pond,” “The River,”) who will present a Lifetime Achievement Award to James Lipton, creator, executive-producer, writer and host of the 12-time Emmy-nominated Bravo series, “Inside the Actors Studio.”  In addition, “The Bold and the Beautiful’s” Ronn Moss, Susan Flannery, and Katherine Kelly as well as Jeanne Cooper (“The Young & the Restless”) who will present a Lifetime Achievement Award to Lee Phillip Bell, co-creator, with her husband, of two of the longest running and most revered daytime dramas, “The Young and the Restless" and "The Bold and the Beautiful.” 

The black-tie gala to be held at the Hollywood & Highland Ballroom in Hollywood on Thursday, June 14, will be attended by 1100 performers, producers and craftspeople involved in daytime television, including drama, talk shows, children’s programs, game shows and lifestyle programs.  This year Emmy Awards will be presented this year for original entertainment programming – comedy, drama, children’s and variety created specifically for broadband, including computers, mobile phones, PDAs and similar devices.  The Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment Emmy Awards is sponsored by American Airlines, Kmart, PURPOSE® and Soapnet.com.

The event will be webcast live beginning at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT by TV Worldwide, the first web-based global Internet TV network.

Also appearing as presenters will be stars of every genre of daytime entertainment including  Paula Deen (Food Network’s “Paula’s Home Cooking”), Tanya Memme and Roger Hazard (A&E’s  “Sell This House”), Olympic Gold Medal figure skater Brian Boitano, Kevin O’Connor (PBS’s “This Old House), Cathie Filian and Steve Piacenza, (DIY’s “Creative Juice” for HGTV), Ben Bailey (Discovery Channel’s  “Cash Cab”), and Brian Baumgartner (NBC’s “The Office”).

Stars of daytime drama who will appear as presenters include: Leven Rambin and Jeff Branson (“All My Children”), Martha Byrne and Marie Wilson (“As The World Turns”), Lesli Kay  and Winsor Harmon (“The Bold  and The Beautiful”),

Lawrence Saint Victor and Jessica Leccia, (“Guiding Light”), Robin Strasser and John-Paul Lavoisier (“One Life to Live”), Kristoff St. John and Doug Davidson “The Young and The Restless”), and James Scott and Lauren Koslow (“Days of Our Lives”).

One of the highlights of the evening will be the presentation of Emmy Awards to daytime children’s programming by Caroll Spinney (Big Bird and Oscar on PBS’s “Sesame Street”), Kevin Clash (Elmo on PBS’s “Sesame Street”), JD Roth (Discovery Kids’ “Endurance”), Christopher Lloyd (PBS’s “Cyberchase”), and Tom Kenny, (Nickelodeon’s “Sponge Bob Square Pants”)

A special honor to Mike Douglas will be accepted by producer Woody Fraser and Erni Di Massa, Jr., veteran television executive and former producer of “The Mike Douglas Show.”

At this ceremony, Emmy Awards will be presented in such categories as: Directing in a Talk Show; Casting Director for a Drama Series; Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design; Writing in a Children’s Series; Costume Design/Styling; Multiple Camera Editing; Music Direction and Composition; Directing in a Children’s Series; Performer in Animation, Outstanding Children’s Series, and Outstanding Lifestyle Show.

For the first time, fans will be able to view this event after the fact, thanks to the marvels of the internet.  The event will be archived for viewing at TVWorldwide.com and TVMainstream.com, as well as the National Television Academy website at www.emmyonline.tv.  Participants should have the free Windows Media Player installed prior to the event and should log on by, 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT on Thursday, June 14. Depending on scheduled recording, initial live-to-tape archived programming will be available for viewing on Friday, June 15.

Emmy Awards in additional categories, primarily for performances and programs, will be awarded at the 34rd Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards, telecast live on CBS from the Kodak Theater in Hollywood on Friday, June 15 (9:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT).  This will mark the second time the Daytime Emmy Awards will be broadcast from Hollywood in the 34-year history of the Awards ceremonies.