EMMY 2006 ~ 7-Time Emmy Winner Meredith Vieira Hosts Cr

User Rating: / 0
 hspace=10 src=New York, N.Y. – March 16, 2006 -- Meredith Vieira, seven-time Emmy Award winner and this year’s Daytime Emmy Award nominee in three categories – Outstanding Talk Show Host,  Outstanding Game Show Host, Outstanding Game Show (as co-producer)  – will emcee the 33rd Annual Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards in New York City on Saturday, April 22.  The black-tie event, to be held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel, will be attended by 900 performers, producers and craftspeople involved in daytime television, including drama, talk shows, children’s programs, game shows and service programs.

At this ceremony, Daytime Emmy Awards will be presented in such categories as: Directing in a Talk Show; Casting Director for a Drama Series; Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design; Writing in a Children’s Series; Costume Design/Styling; Multiple Camera Editing; Music Direction and Composition; Directing in a Children’s Series; Outstanding Children’s Series, Outstanding Game Show and Outstanding Service Show.

In addition, Caroll Spinney, the puppeteer who plays the roles of Big Bird and Oscar the Grouch on Sesame Street, will be honored with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.   Spinney was chosen for his work entertaining and educating children for nearly four decades, since the series debut in 1969.  His characters have been seen on more than 4,000 episodes, as well as Sesame Street television specials that have taken Spinney to China, Japan, Australia, France, Germany, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Spinney starred in the feature film Follow That Bird and has performed on a number of other shows, including The West Wing and Hollywood Squares. 

The Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards will also be held during a simultaneous black-tie ceremony at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland in Los Angeles.  Daytime Emmy Awards in additional categories, primarily for performances and programs, will be awarded at the 33rd  Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, telecast live on ABC from the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood on Friday, April 28 (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT).  This will mark the first time the Daytime Emmy Awards will be broadcast from Hollywood in the 33-year history of the Awards ceremonies.

This is also the first time Vieira has hosted the Creative Arts Daytime Emmy Awards.  Vieira is currently moderator of “The View,” seated alongside Star Jones Reynolds, Joy Behar, Elisabeth Hasselbeck and executive producer Barbara Walters. The program premiered in August 1997, and is broadcast live from New York City. It consists of hot topics in the news, the best experts in their field, celebrity interviews and general entertainment, and has earned Daytime Emmy nominations each year, including this year, for Vieira and her co-hosts as Outstanding Talk Show Host. 

In September 2002, Vieira was named host of the weekday version of “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.” In May 2005, she won her first Daytime Emmy Award as Outstanding Game Show Host for “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire,” becoming one of only two women in the three decades of the Daytime Emmy Awards to receive this honor. Ms. Vieira has now done more episodes as a game show host than any woman in television history. “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire” is currently in its fourth season.

Vieira joined ABC News in October 1993 as chief correspondent for ABC News’ “Turning Point,” which premiered in March 1994. In 1995 she garnered her sixth Emmy Award for her report “Inside the Hate Conspiracy: America’s Terrorists,” an in-depth look at a group of white supremacists who became the most wanted criminals in America.

Previously Vieira had spent more than a decade at CBS News, where she garnered five Emmy Awards for her work as a correspondent on the top-ranking news magazines “60 Minutes” and “West 57th.” From 1989 to 1991 she was a co-editor of “60 Minutes,” reporting such stories as the award-winning “Ward 5A,” which focused on the first AIDS ward in San Francisco. In addition she won an Emmy Award for the “60 Minutes” report, “Thy Brother’s Keeper,” a story on Christians who saved Jews during the Holocaust.

Daytime Emmy Award recipients are chosen by a panel of their peers in 58 categories.  Emmy Awards are presented to daytime television programs that are broadcast nationally between the hours of 2 a.m. and 6 p.m.  The eligibility period for this year’s Daytime Emmy Awards was January 1, 2005 – December 31, 2005.

Official Partners for the 33rd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards include American Airlines, Dr. Scholl’s, Fiskars, glacéau smartwater®, and Star magazine.  Charles Fazzino is the Official Artist of the 33rd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, and created the commemorative poster and program cover.  The 33rd  Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Television Academy in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Return to Soapdom Emmy Headquarters 2006

< Prev   Next >