31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Presented on NBC

User Rating: / 0
NBC's press release on its broadcast of the 2004 Daytime Emmy's

Ten Veteran Actors Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

NBC's Official Press Release

NEW YORK -- May 21, 2004 –- The 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards were presented by the National Television Academy at Radio City Music Hall tonight and broadcast live on the NBC Television Network (9-11 PM, EST). Vanessa Marcil, star of NBC's "Las Vegas," hosted the show. Joining Marcil was a star-studded line up of presenters including: Ellen DeGeneres, Emeril Lagasse, Jane Pauley, Susan Lucci and her daughter Liza Huber, Cameron Mathison, Jennifer Finnigan, and Tyler Christopher, among others. One of the evening's highlights featured a special tribute honoring Sesame Street Workshop's 35th Anniversary, which was introduced by Ellen DeGeneres. Ms. DeGeneres was then joined by some favorite Sesame Street characters for a musical performance.

Daytime Emmy Awards were presented for performances and programs in 18 categories, including Outstanding Lead Actor/Actress in a Drama Series, Outstanding Game Show Host, Outstanding Talk Show, Performer in a Children's Series and Outstanding Drama Series. This year's Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to ten veteran actors who have devoted a major portion of their careers to Daytime Drama: Rachel Ames, John Clarke, Jeanne Cooper, Eileen Fulton, Don Hastings, Anna Lee (posthumously), Ray MacDonnell, Frances Reid, Helen Wagner, and Ruth Warrick.

The 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Television Academy in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The telecast was produced by Dick Clark Productions.

On May 15th, Daytime Emmy Awards were presented primarily in the creative arts categories at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City and at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland in Los Angeles. The Daytime Emmy Awards are presented to daytime television programs broadcast between the hours of 2:00 A.M. and 6:00 P.M. The eligibility period for all awards was January 1, 2003 through December 31, 2003.

EMMY 2004 ~ Soapdom's EMMY Headquarters